The ‘MomBod’

Lately in the news there has been a lot of talk about the ‘Dad bod’. This meaning men who are not hefty but not ripped, a little on the fluffy side maybe. But what about the MomBod?

Before getting pregnant, I always imagined myself as a women with a tiny cute basketball bump, dressed in fashionable maternity clothes (is that even a real thing??), Wearing heels at 8 months pregnant and never missing a workout.

HA!! What can I say, I dream big!!

I soon realized that pregnancy was not an easy transformation from  young girl to child bearing woman. I began my pregnancy with some wicked morning sickness followed by a streak of no energy. I began to see if I wanted to be the mom I described above that I was going to have to work really hard!

I have always been very active and was when I got pregnant, so I did have a bit of a head start. I ran over 300 miles while I was pregnant and continued with some mild strength workouts.

Fast forward to March 28th…… The day before I went into labor. I walked four miles that morning then went for a tractor ride with my fiance, fixed a sprinkler and checked cows. At this point I was 20lbs heavier than I was when I got pregnant.

  
WHAT?! 20lbs? You are all thinking, “what is this lady complaining about”?

BUT….take into consideration that When I got pregnant I was very tight and toned, lots of muscle! After getting pregnant I lost a lot of muscle mass So i gained inches but not pounds. (muscle weighs more than fat).

I am now three months postpartum and rocking the ‘MomBod’ (or my version of it). I have worked my tiny hiney off for this bod and I am so proud of it. I almost back up to my original weight! (I know I am going backwards here, but hang with me) After baby was born, I had lost all muscle tone that I once had. My arse was literally flat and I am not a fan of a flat hind end on myself. I have been toning and strength training ever since to try and get my muscle back! I am back up to 101lbs and feel amazing! My abs are showing (however there is lose skin still over them), my quads have a little arc to them and my arse is growing!

   
 I am rocking MY MomBod!

Every woman has a different version of the MomBod and every version is beautiful. My baby loves to put her feet on the lose skin on my abs and move it around and I find this beautiful. I don’t want that to go away for her. Our children love our bodies, and that matters.

I am Beautiful. I am powerful. I am capable. I am strong. I am rocking the mombod.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

One Comment Add yours

  1. Yes, all of the above. But woman, you got to get doing squats!!😲

    Like

Leave a Reply

