After School Time

Had to stop for a traffic jam this morning on the way to work. This is a common occurance for me, A Wyoming Traffic jam.  

It was not until I moved away from my home for college that I realized how lucky I was to grow up in a place where this is the only traffic jam. I have Mountains that i can explore right out my back door, all kinds of wildlife and miles and miles of undeveloped land to take adventures on. I am so blessed that my child will also be able to grow up knowing this valley and all its wonders. I feel like it is easier for children to be active when they have so many options out the back door. Imagination can run wild along the banks of the creek and up the ridge of the mountains.

  
While living in Oklahoma in the winters, we have to be a little more creative with our outdoor activites. We have no mountains or streams to explore but we still get outside everyday. Fresh air does a child (and mother) good. I am going to be teaching a childrens nutrition and fitness class at a local gym and i can’t wait to get these kids moving!

Here are some great ways to get kids going after school:

  1. Go for an ‘adventure’ at the local park. Play like you are on a safari or trip, bring some healthy snacks and get the kids involved! Have them run from lions, hide from bears, walk along the great wall (use your imagination here! This is great for little kids)
  2. Set up a kitchen outside and teach your kids how to make a few healthy snacks. I like to do ants on a log (celery, natural pb, raisins), apple nachos (sliced apples, natural pb, a couple choc. chips (i use ones that are not made with refined sugars), coconut flakes, anything the kids like you can add to the top). Make a fruit salad together. Bake some homemade whole grain bread.
  3. Read a story to the kids and have them act it out as you go.
  4. Play ball!
  5. set up an obstacle course. This can be fun for the whole family, have a race to see who can do it the fastest! I like to add things like jumping over logs, push-ups, going around trees, jump squats, under ropes, flipping tires, be creative here!

It is so important that we teach this generation the importance of movement and nutrition! Get outside and get your kids going, invite the neighbors over, have fun as a family!

“The first wealth is health” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

One Comment Add yours

  1. Oh that would be so incredible to explore the area through hiking. We always try to hike wherever we go! Such an awesome way to get views you would have never otherwise seen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

