How healthy is it? 

Rise & grind: 30 sec. Each – burpees,  side lunges ( alternating sides), spider plank, glute bridges, mountain climbers, starfish crunches, rest. Repeat 6x. 

Hey everyone! 

It’s Thursday and you know what that means? Friday is tomorrow! Woohoo! 

Yesterday I made a trip to the store and as always, spent time reading food labels and checking out ‘healthy items’. I was trying to find some good snacks for my husband who is wanting to eat healthy but is also an Ectomorph and can eat a dozen donuts a day and look the same! He needs foods that are more nutrient and calorie dense without all the added sugar. So while looking, I compiled a list of ‘healthy’ snacks and did reviews. 

1. Vanilla Blueberry kind bar: calories 140, carbs 24g, fiber 2.5g, protein 2g, fat 4g, sugar 7g. 

  
Ingredients: whole grain blend, tapioca syrup, dried cane syrup, honey, canola oil, brown rice syrup, gum acacia, vanilla, blueberry purée, Apple purée, plum purée, Apple juice, glycerine, sea salt, vit. E, citrus fiber, citrus pectin, natural flavor. 

On a scale of 1-10 (10 being super healthy) I give this a 5. The amount of sugar is ridiculous ( almost 2 teaspoons). Three of the first four ingredients are from sugar. The fiber content is low. The protein content is low (although in a granola bar it usually is). I do applaud it for being non gmo and having 5 super grains. Taste is delicious. 

2. Annie’s bunny fruit snacks: calories 70, carb 18g, protein 0g, fat 0g, sugars 10g. 

  
Ingredients: organic tapioca syrup, organic cane sugar, organic tapioca syrup solids, organic white grape juice concentrate, pectin, citric acid, ascorbic acid, color, natural flavor, sodium citrate, organic sunflower oil, carnauba wax. 

This one gets a 2. Organic does not always mean healthy! These are basically solid sugar water. Delicious yes but not something I can feel good about feeding my kid or husband. 

Parents read labels! I will review a few more tomorrow. And maybe keep doing one a day if you all like it! 

Baby and I are off for a morning jog and some fresh air. Fall mornings are perfect weather for getting outside, letting the mind wander, & refreshing my insides. 

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful. 

Xoxo, 

Anne Nicole 

Leave a Reply

