The great candy debate

Rise & Grind: Grab coffee, Bring to mouth, take drink. Repeat several times. HA! That is my workout as of now but later on I will be doing this one: Grab a deck of cards. Do as many reps of each exercise as face value of the card.

Diamond – Plank Jacks   Hearts – Glute Bridges    Spades – Mt. Climbers   Clubs – Jumping Jacks   Aces & Jokers – 5 burpees

  
It is finally feeling like fall here in Oklahoma. The temperatures are cooling and the mornings are crisp. We got our little girl her first Halloween costume last night & I can’t wait to take her out in it! Halloween has always been a fun holiday for me. While growing up, my mom would have a bonfire at our place for the kids to warm up around (we live in Wyo, it was usually snowing by halloween). This year will be a whole new chapter for us having our own baby. I am afraid dad will be eating her candy this year since she is still lacking teeth!

On the topic of candy, Do you let your kids eat all their halloween candy? This has been all over the news and blogs lately, the topic of halloween candy. I have heard some great ideas on halloween candy!

  1. Let them eat as much as they would like and offer to buy each piece they have left for 5 cents. Then, take them to the dollar store and let them buy a toy. (from Heidi Powells blog)
  2. Let your child pick out a certain number of pieces they want (5 or 10) and then take the rest.
  3. Dole out your candy and trade it with parents for healthy treats and toys.
  4. Eat it all!!!

Personally, I have not decided what to do with our child and the candy yet. Since she will not be eating crappy candy and food on a regular basis, I am ok with her eating a lot of it one night. Everyone needs to live a little! It is moderation that is key.  Once Halloween night is over, the candy will go away and we can go back to healthy eating habits.

What are you doing for halloween with your candy?

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

6 Comments Add yours

  1. C T says:

    Our dentist buys candy from kids at 2 dollars a pound.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, That is a great idea for a business to get involved in a good way!

      Like

  2. gidstorm says:

    great post,i really like the idea of buying them of the kids.I was stressing what do do about this when our young one is a bit older.thanks a million

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Im glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  3. I don’t have my own kids but am more or less in control of my 4 and 3 year old nephews candy… They were too young to notice last year if the adults stole some lol. However I still tried not to eat too many (moderation enjoyment). There are four adults in the house though so we slowly are it and the boys got a few pieces a day, a few days a week probably for a few weeks. Soon it was gone between all of us. I’m not sure what we’re doing this year since they will be going trick or tearing twice, which will probably mean a lot more candy. I think letting them have like 5-10 pieces the day of or the day following, and then 2-5 pieces a day for a week or two is a good balance, then giving the rest away (or the parents buying them so they can use the money for a toy idea) is a good way to go personally.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Best of luck with your nephews and the candy! I personally like the idea of buying it also, seems like a win win for parents and kids.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

