Why It Is Ok To Cheat

Rise & Grind: 10 Burpees, 10/leg side leg lifts, 15 sumo squats, 50 jumping jacks, 20/side plank dips, 15 ab rolls downs. (x5)

Monday has arrived!! I always feel refreshed on Mondays. It is like a whole new chance to better yourself. This weekend took a toll on me, I thought I could act like I was in college for a day & I quickly found out I am not in college anymore! But, totally worth it!

I completely let my nutrition go out the window for one night. I ate ribs, coleslaw, & beans for dinner. Ate 1/2 pint of ice cream for dessert & drank 6 beers. (And yes, I had a stomach ache that was awful).

So how can I do that and be ok with it? Well truth be told, It is hard on my brain (always telling me not to do things like that or that I will screw up my goals) but it is ok just ONCE IN A WHILE! Like my brother used to say, “if you ain’t cheating you ain’t trying”

Here is why is works!

  1. If you are eating a restrictive diet, your Leptin levels are most likely low. Leptin is a hormone that is produced by our fat tissue. It’s job is to regulate our body weight and our fat mass. Leptin does this by affecting our appetite and energy balance. By eating a high calorie cheat meal, you can restore your Leptin levels and have more energy for the entire week which will make it much easier to stick to your restrictive diet.
  2. If we all ate like gym rats all the time, we would be crazy! We all need a little reward for a job well done. This helps us see the light at the end of the tunnel. Re-fuels motivation and sets you up for another success.
  3. Re-starts you metabolism. By giving our bodies a lot more calories one day, our metabolism boosts up to try to deal with all the added energy. If we keep our metabolisms guessing, they do not drop to a plateau level.

Keep in mind, I ate mostly REAL food for my cheat meal (Meat, Salad, Beans). I did not cheat on lab processed crap! The ice cream was almond milk mocha fudge and the beers were Michelob Light. Those are not REAL foods. Those are sugar bombs that made my stomach almost die. Those where my two major exceptions. I would do it again though! 😉

Back on track today and the rest of this week! We started off last night with some grilled elk steak, roasted broccoli, & roasted sweet potatoes! (and yes I ate most of it before taking this picture!)

  
I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

Leave a Reply

