Is your baby sweet as sugar?

Rise & Grind: AMRAP 20 mins, 5 push-ups, 30 jumping jacks, 10 squats, 30 plank dips. Stretch, do a little yoga even. Your stress levels may need it this week!

So as some of you know, I am one of those crazy moms. For those of you reading me for the first time, I am one of those crazy moms. I have never bought any baby food, baby crackers, or baby formula. My baby is breastfed and home cooked.

Usually when I leave her with a sitter I pump extra milk so that she has a bottle. I have a lot of frozen breastmilk but she won’t drink it once it has been frozen. I usually look for moms with babies with SMA to donate it to. Long story short, I didn’t have any pumped milk on Sunday to leave with her. I had a sample that was sent to me of formula so I thought I might try it. WRONG! Have you ever looked at the ingredients?

  1. Corn Syrup Solids – Dried glucose syrup, ie: Sugar, As the 1st ingredient! This can take away chromium, zinc, copper, & magnesium that your baby needs. It also trains babies that they need very sweet foods in their diet.
  2. Partially hydrolyzed nonfat milk and whey protein concentrate – this is a protein from cows, Most likely from cows fed a lot of hormones!
  3. Vegetable oil – This may match the fatty acid in breastmilk but it also lowers fat and calcium absorption.
  4. Everything else is less than 2% – Some of the vitamins listed may even reduce absorption rate. Also, soy ingredients are highly GMO.

  
Next time you feed formula, think before you feed! would you mix up sugar, dry milk protein and vegetable oil in a bowl and spoon feed it?

That being said, do any moms know of a formula that is non-gmo, has no sugar ingredients (not even brown rice syrup, that is in most organic formulas), & is not put together it vegetable oil? My baby is not sweet as sugar, at least when it comes to her diet! I prefer whole foods & breast milk.

I am very interested to see what other moms are feeding!

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Melsaether

Leave a Reply

