Healthier Holiday Treats!

Rise & Grind: Deck of cards. Hearts – Jumping jacks (x10, so 5 would be 50 etc.) Diamonds – Glute Bridge pulses (x5), Spade – Woodchoppers, Club – Jump Squats, Ace & Jokers – 6 Burpees.

Welcome to December! My all time favorite month of the year. I love the holidays, I love baking, I love Christmas movies, I love Christmas stories, I love getting together with family. My Mom and I bake every year and take plates to all the neighbors. We make caramel, fudge, doughnuts, sugar cookies, pinwheel cookies, & sometimes banana bread. Basically all of the things that I have recommended you not to eat!

This year I am trying out a few “healthy” recipes for my daughter. Here is my first two (and yes they both taste delicious!).

  1. Holiday cinnamon crackers.

1C. Flour of your choice. I use Organic unenriched, unbleached, whole wheat.

1/8 c. coconut sugar. You can use any sugar, I prefer no sugar honestly but I put a little to maintain texture.

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

2-3 TBSP chilled coconut oil (Just make sure it is really solid)

1/2 tsp. vanilla

water to mix.

Combine all of the dry ingredients. put in a blender and mix in the coconut oil. Add the vanilla and water. mixture should be crumbly looking but able to pack together. Place baking paper on a pan and spray with any nonstick spray. dump mixture onto paper and roll out till it is about 1/4/-1/8 inch thick. Slice into squares. bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. crackers will get harder as they cool. You can also cut them with cookie cutters for fun shaped crackers.

2. “Caramel” Popcorn

1/4-1/3 c. real maple syrup (this will not work with fake)

2 TBSP coconut oil

about 5-7 c. of popcorn

melt oil and syrup together in a pan. Heat till is is just boiling. pour over popcorn and eat up!! This will make your popcorn shrink but it still tastes great!

Have a wonderful Tuesday! Make yourself proud today.

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

Leave a Reply

