Why People who grow up in mountain towns are more fit

Rise & Grind: 5x – 10 Burpees, 10/leg reverse plank leg lifts, 15/side side plank crunches, 40 Mt. climbers, 12 laying leg lifts.

I am glad it is Friday! We are packing to head on a family road trip to spend the Holidays with my family. I can’t wait to get up in the mountains and breath some fresh air! After growing up there, nothing compares (I’m got spoiled by getting to grow up  in the mountains).

When I first moved down to the flat land, I was surprised at how many over weight people there are here. No one goes to the gym, the grocery stores do not have much organic, natural, ‘health food’, and no no one really worries about it. Where I grew up everyone is active in some way, there are 2 ‘health food’ organic, natural, grocery stores in town, & everyone is conscious of their health.

So why is it so different? Well, in JH (the town I grew up in) there are mountains and water. Yes, that is what I attribute the difference to. Due to the landscape, people are outside skiing, hiking, rafting, fishing, hunting, horseback riding, snowmobiling, and so on. There is always something outside to be doing. People are happy due to the increased sun exposure and fit due to all the activity. We also had a huge option of healthy food so people choose it more often.

Here  in the flat land, there are no mountains and no water. So what do you do outside? Run down the dirt road, Farm, um……

No one is worried about eating healthy here since that is not a huge item of concern when activity is not an item of concern.

See the difference?

Think about your surroundings! Use them to the best of your ability. I am learning how to use the flatland to increase my abilities, I’ll let you know when I figure it out!

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

