Whats for supper?

Rise & Grind: Warm up with this: 30 Jumping jacks, 20 sec. butt kicks, two stretches (x3). Then follow with this: 10 leg lifts, 10 woodchoppers (w/weight), 20/side spider plank, 5 burpees, 20/side bicycle crunches, 15/side side plank crunches, 20 sec. high knees. (x5)

So one of my biggest pet peeves is wasting food. I like to use up every last bit of what I make (just ask my husband who gets to eat all my weird leftovers)! I find that buying groceries can be much more effective if I make foods I can reuse in other recipes. Of course, I like to keep my cooking healthy and flavorful! We use a lot of salsa, spices, and vegetables to flavor our meals. I am a huge fan of spicy food but any recipes can be tweaked to a milder flavor.

The other night, the hubby grilled pork chops and we had two leftover in the fridge and here is what I made:

2 grilled pork chops

1 pablano pepper

1 cup corn

10 halved cherry tomatoes

Cheese of your choice

Tortillas of your choice (I use ezekiel)

 
  
  
Dice up the pepper and add it to a skillet at medium heat. Add the pork, corn and last the tomatoes. Let this all simmer together till the pork is heated all through and the pepper is soft. Remove from skillet. Lay a tortilla into the same skillet. Top with cheese (however much you like, I like hardly any and my husband likes gobs), Add some of the pork mixture. Fold tortilla in half and heat till tortilla is crispy. You do not need to add any oil to your pan while cooking either the meat mixture or the tortilla but if you want to you can use butter or coconut oil. I do not use either for this recipe. Enjoy with some hot salsa or sour cream!

As for the leftover leftovers, add the cold pork mixture to a bed of greens, top with salsa and enjoy for lunch the next day!

  
I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful. 

Xoxo, 

Anne Nicole 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

