My Passion is Killing Me

Good morning!

Unlike most of the country, the weather is supposed to be warm and sunny here today! I am ready to hit the road on the bike or maybe go for a run.

For those of you who are just meeting me, horses have always been a huge part of my life! However, I am severely allergic and get horrible asthma. (I know, long story. And no, I am not quitting).

Anyway, I am in the middle of selling one horse right now and purchasing another. Since I have had baby (10 months ago) I have not had much time to ride. Usually during the summer I am on a horse 6 days a week but this year it was maybe 2. While this break has been amazing for my breathing, it has been less than that for my soul. I need to ride. It is part of who I am.

I was overjoyed when I heard that my gelding was finally selling but that also meant it was time for me to make some time for me! I need to get him in shape before the buyer comes. So, I have rode 6 times in the last 7 days. Holy cow! I forgot how great it felt. My heart is at home in the saddle. The first few days I was on cloud nine!

Fast forward to yesterday, I rode maybe 5 minutes and was brought down by breathing. I came in and did a neb. treatment and got back on for about 25 more minutes. Not a wise decision but you only live once, right?!

It is so easy to say that when you are single and not a mom! This was my first really bad breathing bout since I have had Raelyn and quite honestly it scared me! I have so much more at stake now. It is not just my life anymore. I used to push it to the limit every time with my lungs and now I am having a hard time doing that.

  
So I am back to the drawing board. Going to give it a day of rest today then try to ride tomorrow. Call Dr. west and see what I can do.

It is so hard to have a passion for something and have that same thing try to kill you.

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful. I will prevail.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

P.S. How are those Valentines goals coming?! I am excited to see progress pictures!

Leave a Reply

