Refresh Today

Rise & Grind: Go for a walk or run (further instructions below)

After letting myself get all down and dumpy the other day due to some setbacks, I have been thinking about how far I have come since I began a healthy lifestyle. I have came from 110lbs to 100 (part due to quitting dr. prescribed steroids, part due to working my butt off, part due to being out of college) I am only 5′ 0″ so think about that when thinking about my weight. I have gained several friends. I have gained an entirely new perspective on my lifestyle and my eating habits. I have gained self confidence and self control. I have gained wisdom that I can pass onto my daughter regarding her health so that she never has to be where I once was (that is my hope anyway). I have gained knowledge of my soul and what sets it on fire.

Growing up I was never mindful of my inner body or self. Now that I have gotten into working out and pushing myself past my limits, I have learned more to listen to my soul and let it lead the way. Sometimes we need to just sit and listen to what our body is trying to tell us. Our minds can be so detrimental to our success. They can talk us out of a workout, make us crave, convince us we are lazy, tell us we are going to be sick forever, so why even bother? It takes mind control to live a healthy lifestyle and mind control begins in the soul. Once we are at piece with ourselves, it is much easier to have will power. “Once we control the mind, we can conquer the body”

So today my challenge to you is simple: Go for a walk or run. Leave behind your phone (or at least turn it to silent), do not use your nike run app, do not track your distance, your time, or your calories. Forget your activity tracker steps and forget what pace you are going. Just let your body walk/run. Stop to take a pretty picture along the way, smell the flowers, breath deep and enjoy the fresh air. Take notice of your surroundings and let your soul guide you. Refresh your mind, body, and spirit today.

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

Leave a Reply

