If real food was the only food & we had to work hard to get it

My Monday was a success! How was your Monday?

I hit some goals yesterday running three miles (woohoo, haven’t done that since November), going on a bike ride, and eating good! I had oatmeal for breakfast, raw veggies and string cheese for lunch, and elk meat with veggies on the grill, half a sweet potato, and a piece of homemade bread for dinner. I had some homemade granola in between there also.

Eating is so important. To everyone! I have wrote before about becoming more self sufficient with our family and we are well on our way! The garden is completely dug now!  

 I hand dug this whole beauty with my shovel (talk about a workout). Yes, I could have used a tiller, but what’s the fun in that? I needed to do this for me to feel the accomplishment of a hard job done. After I dug the garden, I did use a tiller to break up some chunks and smooth it out. My husband helped me build the fence and now we are ready to plant!

Planting is next week. I have started some seeds inside to give them a little head start.

Other things I am doing to boost our living value include transitioning to all glassware in the house, trying not to buy meat at the grocery store, and composting.

We are lucky to have cattle that we ranch so we keep one back to eat each year and we are able to hunt where I grew up so we have game meat also. The only meat we usually buy at the store is chicken or pork. Do you think my husband will go for raising pigs and chickens too? ha!

It’s the simple life that gets my soul excited! I love putting work into a project and seeing return. Thinking that we will be able to raise a family off our land is amazing to me! I wish more children had the opportunity to learn about self sufficiency, gardening, and the value of our soil. I feel that childhood obesity would not be a rampant disease if we could teach children these lessons. If real food was the only food and people had to work hard to get it our society would be much stronger than it is now.

I would love to hear what you are doing to keep these lessons alive & what you think is important for our future!

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

Xoxo,

Anne Nicole

One Comment Add yours

  1. Joshua says:

    We are also gardening and have started fruit trees. I think it is important to show children how to grow their own food in case they ever need to do it for themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

