Do all these ‘fit moms’ have fit kids too?

Ok, so I have been thinking about this quite a bit lately. I follow quite a few ‘fit moms’ on Instagram and on here. I see lots of pictures of moms working out, eating right, and staying healthy. I am just curious, does this apply to the kids also?

As moms we deserve to spend some time on ourselves! Each workout and healthy meal is most definitely deserved. I know that for me, my workouts are my me time. However, baby is usually with me while I am working out. I do most of my fitness at home with my daughter right beside me and every once in a while I see her trying to imitate my moves. That makes me smile!

To get to the point, I think it is just as important to schedule ‘workouts’ or time for movement for our kids are well as ourselves. I think a lot of time kids get lost in the shuffle when it comes to daily movement. We find time to workout our own bodies and our kids are either at daycare or napping or watching a movie. Why not make fitness a family affair? Kids need to grow up with healthy habits! Here are a few tips to get the kids involved in some daily fitness and nutrition.

  1. Make time in the day dedicated to getting the kids moving. I love to take my daughter swimming. She kicks around in the pool and splashes a lot. This is great movement for her (she is 15 months old). The possibilities are endless here! Do yard work, swim, play backyard sports, bike ride, hike, make an at home obstacle course, etc.
  2. Involve your kids in cooking. This is SO important! I can not believe how many kids do no know how to cook basic meals. Teach your kids the importance of nutrition and teach them to prepare food. I know this can get super messy but it is worth it! Kids are also more apt to try new foods if they had a hand in making them!
  3. Let kids explore new forms of movement. Summer offers a lot of opportunity for kids. Camps, classes, sports, the list goes on. Let your kids try new classes and sports till they find something that suits them! As moms we have to let them make their own choices about what types of fitness they enjoy. Trust me, if they like it, they will be more apt to keep at it.
  4. Make family time active. Make an obstacle course in your yard and see who can do it the fastest. Have a dance off at home after dinner. Get the entire family out for a hike. Do a treasure hunt. Anything that make your family interested! Spending time together being active creates healthy habits for everyone!
  5. Let the babies explore too. This one is for those of us with little ones still. Mine is just starting to walk and I know it is easier to carry her but that is not what is always best! Hold babies hand and let them walk across the yard with you. Encourage them to move around and see the world around them. Babies need movement too! I like to get baby our on our walks and let her walk for a bit then put her back in the stroller. Yes, it slows my pace but it is so worth it!

“A healthy attitude is contagious but don’t wait to catch it from others. Be a carrier.”

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

Xoxo,

Anne Nicole

Leave a Reply

