Resisting Temptation

Harvest is in full swing at the farm and that means a lot of cooking for this girl!

I bring lunch and dinner out to the field each day during harvest for our crew. Before I go on, I must admit that these meals are not always the healthiest. These farmers need substance, something to get them through the day and long into the night. I also have to make meals that they can eat while driving the semi, grain cart, or combine.

So for about a month, I am cooking up food that is not always food I want (need to) to munch down. Could I eat it? Absolutely! Would I still meet all my goals? Probably not. I like to practice what i preach and eating REAL food 80%  is apart of that (I do cook from scratch for the boys and I use good ingredients) So how do I resist the temptation to dive into thick sandwiches, brats, kolaches, cheesy rolls, pizza, candy bars, lots of homemade desserts, and potatoes cooked in every way you can think of? Well, I usually take some of  the ingredients I am using for their meals and make me a healthier version. Keeps me full, satisfied, and I feel good about it!

Last night I made rolls stuffed with chicken, cheese, and spices, and a side of roasted potatoes. For me, I kept some of the chicken aside and added spices to it and ate it with some sweet potato.

I also like to cook their meals when I am full. This keeps me from snacking while I cook.

As for dessert, will power is a must. I usually eat a little bite and then I am satisfied. Or, I make things that are healthy without the boys knowing (healthy banana bread, clean no bakes, etc).

In the end, it all comes down to reaching my goals and staying accountable for what I tell myself. This is about what makes each of us happy. There are days that I eat exactly what I cook for the boys, dessert and all. I don’t feel bad, I don’t regret it. Life is about balance, happiness, and a little sweetness!

I am strong.I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

xoxo,

Anne Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

