Spring into Fresh Food

“Real food grows, rots dies. Real food doesn’t need an ingredient label. Real food doesn’t make claims” -Michael Pollan

This time of year I am ready for nothing more than swimsuits, garden veggies, and farm stand fruit. WE have had a few very nice ‘teaser’ days here which make the wait for consistent gardening weather even harder! Although, these days do up motivation to get outside for some workouts.

This week one of my goals is to get some of my veggies started inside so I can transfer them outside when they get a good stand. My daughter is an outdoor girl and I am excited to show her around the garden this year and let her help me grow our food. Last year, as a one year old, she just liked to sit in the garden and eat the peas!

Last night we had a nice jump on summer food with some grilled meat, sweet potatoes, peppers, bread, and a fruit pizza (we also had some delicious chocolate cake that my husbands grandma brought to dinner. Also homemade and very delicious). All made from scratch and Home sourced meat (benefits of raising cattle). I try to home source and scratch bake each meal! Anyway, the fruit pizza was delicious and very fresh for this time of year! Usually the pizza is made with a sugar cookie as a base but I am not a fan of super sweet and wanted to keep it healthy. So here it is:

Base: 1 1/4 c. oats, 1/3 c. unbleached, unenriched flour (can use whole wheat or white whole wheat. Gluten free may also work), 1/4 tsp salt, 1/3 c. honey or coconut sugar, 1/2c. butter.

Combine the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter COLD and mix till you get a nice crumbly base. Press into a pie dish and bake at 375 for 15 mins.

Filling: Cream, Honey. I used about 1.5 cups of cream and drizzled honey in as I was whipping it. Whip these together till you get stiff peaks. Once the crust is completely cooled or even froze put a layer of whip cream on top and then finish it off with cut up fruit (I used strawberries, blackberries,and fresh coconut).

Try not to eat it all in one sitting but if you do I can’t blame you! It is a very light, fresh ‘pie’. Kids will love this one also.

What are you go-to summer recipes?

I am strong. I am capable.I am powerful. I am beautiful.

Xoxo,

Anne Nicole

Leave a Reply

