Tasty July 4th Treats

Part of being a farm wife is helping out whenever the need arises. The past three weeks we have been harvesting wheat and my job is to deliver meals to the field twice a day. All meals must be able to be eaten while driving a combine/semi/tractor.We just finished up on Saturday and needless to say I am a little cooked out!

So, with the 4th of July tomorrow I planning on some easy eats!

Last night was our local fireworks and we had some friends out to eat first. My husband grilled trout and it was great! I made a wilted lettuce salad to go with it and we grilled some Jalepeno peppers.

I wanted to share a couple of my go-to easy and festive eats for the fourth! I hope you all have a great holiday and some great (REAL) food!

This spinach salad is always a winner and looks great with red, white, and blue accents! My mom first made this and now I use it in my house all the time!

IMG_5823.JPG

Fill a bowl with spinach.

Diced strawberries

feta cheese

one diced avocado

Optional: handful of blueberries, almonds and/or sunflower seeds, pecans

Dressing: 3-4 TBSP balsalmic vinegar, 4 TBSP olive oil, 1-2 TBSP honey (depending on how sweet you like your dressing), 2 tsp poppyseeds.

Dessert Parfaits!

IMG_1618img_4503

Make it big or make it small!

I begin with a base of either homemade granola or Purly Elizabeth granola.

Then I use either Sigi’s yogurt or for more fun and a good dessert I use homemade whip cream!

1 pint whip cream. Begin to whip the cream until is is just starting to gain some form and then add 3-4 TBSP Real Honey. Continue whipping until you have stiff peaks. (I always use a real cream also. Look for one in the store that just has cream on the label).

Top with fresh berries!

Enjoy!

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

Xoxo,

Anne Nicole

Leave a Reply

