My Growing Garden

‘If you look at it the right way, you can see that the entire world is a garden’

Growing a garden is something I have done ever since my beginning. My Mother and Grandmother always had gardens. My Great-grandfather had a huge garden and all my Grandmas neighbors did as well. It was just something you did.

I have fond memories of shelling peas with grandma, digging up the dirt with my mom, and making dinners out of our harvests. My all time favorite was peas and potatoes in white sauce. My mom made this in the fall every year when we had enough potatoes and peas to do it.

When I moved in with my husband to our own home, a garden was a must! I spent about a week digging up a space, just a shovel and me. My husband offered to help many times, he even offered the tractor and plow to do it quick and easy but I refused. I feel that you get out a garden what you put into it and I wanted this garden to have good bones.


Fast forward a few years and we now have a huge, glowing garden. A space where I can feed my family, grow real food, and make memories with my daughter. Each day we go out and tend to the veggies and fruits, Raelyn always has to have a carrot while we are out there (she wipes off the dirt on her shirt and eats it up), and she loves picking the peas. After tasting garden potatoes my husband refuses to eat any from the store (we grew enough we should be good all winter long)!

So far this year, our biggest crop is zucchini and yellow squash. I currently have three loafs of bread, 6 bags of frozen zucchini, 5 yellow squash, and 6 zucchinis on my counter. I share my veggies and I preserve them so we have fresh food all winter long. We do not ever let garden veggies go to waste.

We also have melons, pumpkins, peas, peppers, tomatoes, radishes, carrots, corn, potatoes, cabbage, broccoli, okra, spinach and lettuce this year!

I am a big advocate for teaching kids about real food, cooking, and the outdoors and a garden is a perfect way for me to do that. My daughter gets to see and help with the entire process, seed to plate. The older she gets the more interested she is and I am hoping that trend continues.

‘Do not try to explain miracles to kids. Instead let them plant a garden’

I am strong. I am capable. I am powerful. I am beautiful.

Xoxo,

Anne Nicole

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Your garden is so big! #gardengoals!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen Standing says:

    I love that you won’t waste anything you grow! And your produce looks beautiful.

    Like

  3. carolee says:

    Love your garden…and your daughter is adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

